10 Questions: Stephanie Villafuerte

Recipient of the 2015 Denver Business Journal Outstanding Women in Business Lifetime Achievement Award


1.Where did you go to law school and where are you currently working?

I attended UCLA Law School (Class of 1991). I currently serve as the Executive Director of the Rocky Mountain Children’s Law Center, a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting Colorado’s abused and neglected children through legal advocacy and public policy reform.

2. Why did you become a lawyer?

I knew I wanted to be a lawyer by the time I was 16 years old. I wanted to help protect women and children from child abuse, sexual assault and domestic violence. I have been fortunate to have been able to pursue my passion for all 24 years of my legal career.

3. What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?

The best advice I have been given is: In life, you will meet two types of people — the ones who build you up and the ones who tear you down. In the end, you will thank both of them for making you stronger.

4. What are your favorite places to travel?

My favorite place to travel is anywhere in South America. I particularly love Ecuador (Galapagos Islands) and Peru.

5. Which Denver restaurant would you say is crème de la crème?

Any place that can make a righteous burger and truffle fries.

6. What is your biggest pet peeve?

People who aren’t polite — hold the door open for those nice people behind you! It only takes a minute, and it makes people feel just a little bit better during their day!

7. What is your favorite childhood memory?

Sitting in Washington Park with my mom when I was eight years old, eating a bucket of Kentucky Fried Chicken and watching the sun go down.

8. How do you de-stress?

I love long distance and endurance sports. I have ridden the Triple Bypass twice, Ride the Rockies and just completed the Boulder Half-Ironman.

9. What’s your favorite board game?

I like Trouble! I just like the name.

10. If you weren’t a lawyer, you’d be:
I would open a bakery and sell people cinnamon rolls all day. It would be great to make people so happy!

More about you:

Born: Omaha, NE
Lives: Evergreen
Hometown: Colorado
Lives with: my husband of 24 years, my 16-year old daughter and my dog, Smores.

Is there anything else that you would like to share?
My favorite movie is The Sound of Music. I know every lyric by heart. D