Official Magazine of the Denver Bar Association

Picture This ~ September 2015


DBA Annual Awards

More than 150 people gathered on Thursday, July 9, at the Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center for the DBA Annual Awards Ceremony and Reception. There was standing room only in the Supreme Court Courtroom, as more than 150 DBA members, family and friends joined in honoring the 2015 award recipients for their commitment to the legal field and the community before the reception in the atrium.

The honorees were:

Award of Merit: Charles C. Turner.
Judicial Excellence: Ruben Hernandez.
Young Lawyer of the Year: Gillian M. Bidgood.
Volunteer of the Year: John M. McHugh.
Education in the Legal System: Doug Wilhelm, Denver Public Schools Hamilton Middle School 8th Grade History Teacher.
Projects and Programs: Denver Bar Association Court Mediation Services Program.


From L

From Left: Lisa Hughes, Jeanne Busacca, Gillian Bidgood, Doug Wilhelm, Hon. Ruben Hernandez, John McHugh, Past CBA Executive Director Charles Turner, DBA President Janet Drake and DBA Past President John Vaught



John Vaught passes the gavel to Janet Drake


Guests visit with each other.


RMIAN 2015 Immigrant Liberty Awards


The 2015 Immigrant Liberty Awards, a fundraiser and awards ceremony for the Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy Network (RMIAN), was held on Friday, June 12, at the University of Denver’s Ricketson Law Building.


From Left: CBA Executive Director Patrick Flaherty, CBA Past President Charley Garcia, Mekela Goehring, Abbie Johnson and David Kolko.

The Immigrant Liberty Award honorees were:

Tris Lester Bacani, Colorado Human Trafficking Council.
Joe Wismann-Horther, Colorado Refugee Services Program.
Westminster High School Latin American Student Association.
The 7th Annual Pro Bono Service Award was given to David Kolko, Kolko & Associates, PC. He is AILA Colorado Outgoing Chair.

Immediately following the awards presentation, Immediate-Past CBA President Charles F. Garcia presented RMIAN with a check for $50,000 from the Colorado Bar Association. The donation was decided on earlier this year by the CBA Executive Council as a funds-matching challenge to RMIAN. RMIAN was able to raise $50,000 on its own, and CBA matched the funds.

DBA Banquet Honors Members for 50 Years in the Legal Community


Approximately 90 people turned out for DBA’s annual Seniors Spring Banquet on June 3 at the University Club in Denver. Twenty-eight DBA members who were admitted to practice in 1965 made up the list; seventeen of them appeared in-person to be recognized for their achievements and service to the profession. DBA President John Vaught and past DBA President Mary Jo Gross were the presenters. The honorees in attendance were: Andrew S. Armatas, Robert E. Benson, Alan H. Bucholtz, William V. Cox, James B. Dean, Richard A. Finke, David W. Furgason, Michael R. Homyak, William J. Hunsaker, William G. Imig, Dennis M. Jackson, Richard D. Judd, Howard M. Kirshbaum, H. Michael Miller, Robert N. Miller, John D. Pearson and Robert M. Vinton.


DBA Past President Mary Jo Gross and Bob Benson.



DBA Seniors Chair Leonard Plank.


Lawyers Are From Mars, Judges Are From Venus


From Left: Olympia-Fay,-Adam-Espinosa,-KC-Harpring,-Doug-Stevens

Olympia Fay, Adam Espinosa, KC Harpring and Doug Stevens

DBA’s Bench and Bar Committee held a complimentary roundtable event titled “Lawyers Are From Mars, Judges Are From Venus” on Wednesday, May 6, at the Denver Bar Association offices. The program was also co-sponsored by the Sam Cary, GLBT and Hispanic Bar Associations. Attendees included approximately 70 attorney members and judges.


The Docket Arts and Literature Contest Judging Party



From Left: Heather Folker, Marshall Snider, Natalie Lucas, Suzanne Snider, Keith Lewis, Courtney Gibb and Becky Bye.

The Docket Committee held its Arts and Literature Contest Judging Party on June 4 at the Rathod Mohamedbhai LLC offices. After viewing and discussing the submissions, the group headed to Meadowlark Kitchen for a bar review.

Henry Hall Memorial Golf Tournament



From Left: Ed Timmons, Danny Hahn, Jeff Jackson and Ed Timmons, Jr.

On Monday, June 8, 66 DBA members gathered at Hiwan Golf Club in Evergreen to compete in the annual Henry Hall Memorial Golf Tournament.

The following teams earned top honors in their respective divisions: Challenge Low Gross — Ed Timmons, Jeff Jackson, Ed Timmons, Jr. and Danny Hahn; Challenge Low Net — Josh Bugos, Julian Ellis, Chris Condit and Jim Nottingham; Champions Low Net — Todd Jansen, John Lumley, Marty Martineau and Frank Hamilton; Champions Low Gross—Adam McClure, John Connell, John Lumley and Frank Hamilton. On the individual side, the Champions Men’s Low Gross winner was Todd Jansen, and the Champions Women’s Low Gross winner was Susie Roh.


From Left: Jim Nottingham, Julian Ellis, Chris Condit and Josh Bugos.


From Left: Marty Martineau, Todd Jansen, Frank Hamilton and John Lumley.


Seniors Hit the Links for Their Annual Tournament



From Left: Chip Delap, Dave Little, Dick Harvey and Don McMichael.

Nineteen DBA senior members gathered for lunch and a round of golf at Homestead Golf Course in Lakewood for the annual Seniors Golf Tournament on July 16. The winners were: Low Gross: Dave Brougham; Low Net: Pete Willis; Longest Drive: Mark Miller; and Closest to the Pin: Chip Delap.

Seniors_1 (2)

From Left: Mark Miller, Chuck Carpenter and Bob Vinton.


From Left: Bill Krems, David Vigil, Fred Fielder and Bib Litchard.


Justice Hobbs Retirement Party



Justice Gregory Hobbs, Jr. and Chief Justice Nancy Rice.

On Tuesday, June 23, more than 75 people gathered at the Ralph L. Carr Judicial Center for a lively celebration to honor the career of Gregory J. Hobbs, Jr., who retired on August 31 after more than 19 years on the Colorado Supreme Court. Justice Hobbs received several gifts, including a rocking chair from his fellow Justices, an antique engraving print and framed poetry — a love he has shared with his friends and fellow DBA Docket readers.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS