Official Magazine of the Denver Bar Association

Picture This: March

Colorado Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner

The Annual Colorado Bar Foundation Fellows Dinner was held on Friday, Jan. 9 at the Hyatt Regency Denver Convention Center. After welcome cocktails and the introduction of Board of Trustees and special guests, the annual report was covered and 2015 Bar Fellows were introduced. CBA President Charley Garcia then took to the stage to honor the award winners of the night. First, the 2014 CBA Gary L. McPherson Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year award was presented to J. Ryann Peyton. Next, the CBA’s highest honor, the 2014 Award of Merit, was presented to Chuck Turner, who recently stepped down after 34 years as CBA/DBA Executive Director.



Law School for Journalists: Pt.1 – Jury Process in the Holmes Trial

On Monday, Feb. 2, Our Courts held a “Law School for Journalists” session focused on the jury process in the James Holmes trial. Retired Judge Russell Carparelli and Retired Judge Valeria Spencer spoke on capital murder cases and the specifics of the jury process. The presentation was streamed online for those who couldn’t make it to the CBA offices. Judge Carparelli co-founded the Our Courts adult public education project with U.S. District Court Judge Marcia Krieger. The Colorado Bar Association and the Colorado Judicial Branch jointly offer “Law School for Journalists,” an ongoing series of classes designed to provide reporters with background information about issues in the legal system and judiciary.

Stay tuned for part 2 of the Holmes trial series.


Denise D. Hoffman Recognized with 2014 Davis Award

Denise D. Hoffman, the Managing Partner at Hoffman Crews Nies Waggener & Foster LLP, was honored with the 2014 Richard Marden Davis Award at a dinner in her honor on Jan. 23. The award recognizes her outstanding service to the legal community, along with her civic and charitable leadership.

The Davis Award is presented annually “to a Denver lawyer who is 40 years old or younger and combines excellence as a lawyer with civic, cultural, educational, and charitable leadership.” The award was created in memory of Richard Marden Davis, who devoted himself tirelessly to the profession and the community. Hoffman follows a long line of past winners who have continued to serve the Denver legal community, including last year’s honoree, Shannon Stevenson.




The Denver Bar Association Lawyers’ Touch Football League

The Denver Bar Association Lawyers’ Touch Football League completed its 46th season, Sunday November 9, 2014. The championship was won by Collateral Attack over The Lambs 21-12. The season runs from the first Sunday after Labor Day through the first or second week in November. The last several years the games have been played at Eisenhower Park in southeast Denver. Each team consists of seven players (lawyers and law students). The league suggests that each team roster have at least thirteen players. If you are interested in fielding a team or wish to participate next fall please contact John Stevens at jhs@giffordstevens.com.

Generally, the League limits the number of teams to the first ten that apply: preference is given to past participants. Entry fee for each team is yet to be determined (last year’s fee was $570).
The league was the brainchild of John Madden III in 1968. The Madden trophy is awarded to the league champion by Mr. Madden at the commencement of each new season.


Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS