Official Magazine of the Denver Bar Association

Picture This ~ July/August 2016

Law Day Event — Celebrating Colorado Women in the Law



On May 3, a panel of the highest-serving female justices and judges in Colorado spoke to a roomful of attorneys at the “Celebrating Colorado Women: Women in the Law” event presented by the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame (CWHF) and the Denver Public Library. Retired Supreme Court Justice Mary Mullarkey moderated the panel. Featured panelists were retired Supreme Court Justice Jean Dubofsky, current Supreme Court Chief Justice Nancy Rice, U.S. District Court Chief Judge Marcia S. Krieger and Judge Christine Arguello of the U.S. District Court in Colorado. Dubofsky, Mullarkey and Arguello have all been inducted into the CWHF.

More information about the inductees and the CWHF is available at cogreatwomen.org.

Top Left: (from left) Hon. Christine Arguello, Hon. Marcia Krieger, Hon. Nancy Rice, Hon. Jean Dobofsky and Hon. Mary Mullarkey.
Left: Lawyers receive a tour of the CWHF exhibit led by historian Marcia Goldstein, a former CWHF Board member.

Trial Lawyers Present Awards at the Association’s 19th Annual Spring Dinner


The Colorado Trial Lawyers Association (CTLA) hosted its 19th Annual Spring Dinner on May 18 at the Denver Marriott City Center. At the Spring Dinner, CTLA honored Thomas Tomazin of Thomas J. Tomazin, P.C. with the Kenneth Norman Kripke Lifetime Achievement Award; Siddhartha Rathod of Rathod | Mohamedbhai LLC with the New Lawyer of the Year Award; Nelson Boyle of Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine, P.C. and Thomas Neville of Ogborn Mihm, LLP with the Outstanding Service to CTLA Award; and Jose Vasquez of Colorado Legal Services with the Access to Justice Award. In addition, the Case of the Year Award was presented to Paul Maxon of the Law Office of Paul Maxon PC for his work on Basevitz v. Fremont RE-2 School District.

Colorado Lawyers Committee 2016 Awards Luncheon


The Colorado Lawyers Committee held its 2016 Awards Luncheon on May 23 at the Marriott Denver City Center. Approximately 430 attorneys and distinguished members of the community attended the event. A highlight of the luncheon was the presentation of awards honoring individuals and organizations who have contributed significantly to the Colorado Lawyers Committee over the past year: Nancy B. Elkind (Elkind Alterman Harston PC) received the Outstanding Contribution Award; Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP was named the Law Firm of the Year; Aaron A. Boschee (Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP) received the Individual of the Year Award; and a Special Recognition Award was presented to Timothy R. Macdonald (Arnold & Porter LLP).

DBA YLD Rapids Outing


The DBA YLD organized a group outing to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park on May 11 to watch the Rapids beat the Sporting KC. Approximately 40 attendees enjoyed their own VIP area in the stadium.

Criminal Law Practice Area Preview


The CBA Criminal Law Section and the DBA Young Lawyers Division joined forces for a unique networking event at Mockery Brewery on May 26. The Criminal Law Section Council and other members discussed the ins and outs of the practice area and explained how new attorneys can become more actively involved in the section.

Colorado Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony


On the afternoon of May 31, the 227 individuals who successfully passed the February 2016 Bar Exam were recognized at a special ceremony at Boettcher Concert Hall. The event featured welcoming remarks from Chief Justice Nancy Rice, Judge Philip A. Brimmer and Loren M. Brown. Jean Dubofsky gave the keynote address, and Chief Justice Rice administered the Oath of Admission.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS